“I’ll keep you my dirty little secret”

“I’ll keep you my dirty little secret”

All American Rejects

The guilty music pleasure, we all have them. Face it, when the radio plays one of your all time favorite songs, the beat makes your foot tap. The truth is that the songs that make you, according to Lil Jon, “get out of your mind,” may not be the coolest songs around.

One part of music management is enjoying the sound of every type of music, even music that is not always appealing to the public. Once you hear those non-appealing songs being played over and over, they get stuck in your head. Your mind craves the horrible songs and finds a reason to keep playing them. That is the science behind the guilty pleasure songs.

The secret songs are different for everyone. My boyfriend, for example, loves The Cranberries. For some reason he looses control when his iPod shuffles to “Zombie.” I may never understand his fascination with this girl singer band but he craves the band like food for his ears.

Although I may never like The Cranberries, I still have a guilty pleasure playlist of my own. Listed below are five of my dirty little secret songs. When any of these songs play, my inner geek breaks loose and becomes a rock star for a few minutes because “we all just want to be big rock stars.”

1. “What I go to school for” Busted

Busted is a good way to start off with my guilty pleasure playlist. “What I go to school for” is a completely vulgar song about a teenage boy falling for his teacher.

2. “Rockstar” Nickleback

Almost any song that Nickleback sings is a guilty pleasure song. For me, I love the song “Rockstar.” The song reminds me that I am not the only person in the world that wants the fame and fortune of the Hollywood starlets.

3. “Hey Juliet” LMNT

LMNT created the song “Hey Juliet” in the 90’s and it defiantly should have stayed there. “Hey Juliet” is a stalker song about a boy that wants to date a girl in his class but she wants nothing to do with him. When I hear this song on my 90’s radio station it makes me feel like I am back in the 4th grade scanning the room for my Romeo.

4. “Build me up Buttercup” The Foundations

I do not know a single person who does not like this song. The Foundations are a very old band but all of their music is timeless to me. I discovered this song when I was in 5th grade. I brought it to my friends and it soon became our theme song. We would put this song on and jump on the table screaming the lyrics. Classy, I know.

5. “Kidnap my Heart” The Click Five

I know that this song is embarrassing but I love The Click Five. When I am in the car, by myself, I blare their music. Something about this band makes me feel like I am at the beach, catching waves out on my surfboard. The Click Five makes amazing music, very romantic and totally energetic.

I may have embarrassed myself in this blog but it’s okay because after researching for this article I found people have a guilty pleasure playlist worse than mine.

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment